Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Just out of curiousity....
I've been preparing for an upcoming event, and was just working on a subligaculum. It got me to thinking about what other reenactors do for events. So, just out of curiousity.....
Gaius Opius Fugi (Adam Cripps)
Moderator, Roman Army Talkv2
Forum Rules: http://www.ancient-warfare.org/index.php...view=rules
I've been using subligaculum for many years, made of wool.. before, I went comando, really comfortable but a bit itchy... :oops:

If you do it, do it right!...As far as you can... :wink:
[Image: 120px-Septimani_seniores_shield_pattern.svg.png] [Image: Estalada.gif]
Ivan Perelló
[size=150:iu1l6t4o]Credo in Spatham, Corvus sum bellorum[/size]
Leopard or tiger skin subligaculum for me. Always. It just .... feels right.
TARBICvS/Jim Bowers
A A A DESEDO DESEDO!
With the fur inside...? :lol:
[Image: 120px-Septimani_seniores_shield_pattern.svg.png] [Image: Estalada.gif]
Ivan Perelló
[size=150:iu1l6t4o]Credo in Spatham, Corvus sum bellorum[/size]
Quote:With the fur inside...?
Depends on the moment :wink:
TARBICvS/Jim Bowers
A A A DESEDO DESEDO!
Since I'm not doing an impression of one of those bikini girls (re: Piazza Armerina) I don't feel the urge to wear any authentic Roman undies. When I'm a soldier I wear trousers and when I'm a girlie I wear two layers of clothing, so there's no real need to wear anything authentic, as it certainly won't be on show.

Mind you, I'm current working on a very posh silk peplos and fine undertunic, and that might at least require a breast band up top for this modest Roman lady :roll:

There are some gentleman in our group who are very authentic, I'm told :lol: Should have known Tarby would go for leopardskin knickers ...
Quote:Leopard or tiger skin subligaculum for me. Always. It just .... feels right.

Shucks, you probably even leave the claws on it, I'll bet. :oops: :lol:

Ambrosius
"Feel the fire in your bones."