Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Suggestions on Helmet Lining?
Hello all,

I am new to the reenacting sector so this is my first post. I have been wondering what is considered the "proper" (as in as historically accurate as possible) helmet lining for a Imperial Gallic Type E helmet? I know it is possible to buy SCA helmet padding but I was wondering what ia actually proper and how one would go about obtaining it and installing it? Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance!

Best regards,
Innis
Felt likely isn't too far off. You make a liner by sewing together four pieces of 1/4 inch thick felt shaped in the form of spherical triangles (triangles with rounded sides). Two pieces are convex and the other two are concave. Fit the four pieces together and you get a dome.
Titus Licinius Neuraleanus
aka Lee Holeva
Conscribe te militem in legionibus, vide mundum, inveni terras externas, cognosce miros peregrinos, eviscera eos.
<a class="postlink" href="http://www.legiotricesima.org">http://www.legiotricesima.org
This is the next thing we dont know exactly about roman army.
There is no visible holes on roman helmets like for example on some medieval helmets .. holes needed to stich the lining.

On the other side they SHOULD have something between head and helmet, because of two reasons

- to protect your head against hits on helmet, there should be something to absorb energy from this hit.
Becasue of that lining was used in every later periods in history.
Romans where wise enough to find out that the helmet without lining works bad.

- it was production for army, it means that helmets perhaps were only in few different sizes .
So lining is needed to fill in your head comfortable inside the helmet taken from assignment or from dead companion.
It's important to wear helmet comfortable when you are on the march many hours and you have to fight as well.
This is a fight for survive, for your life. They knew about it.