Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Wot, no actors?
Hi, Gioi,

I'm no Thracian, but a Hoplite of Thespiae - and I'll STILL outrun you!
There should be Thracians about, nonetheless. Danno Ulpius does contribute on this Forum, but I haven't seen his Samnite kit and I believe he said he can't come to the UK, because he's spending a couple of years in Turkey. (Honestly, the feeble excuses some people come up with... :wink: )

Paul
Paul, I am currently assembling an ancient medical kit which I hope I would be able to demonstrate when I will be there next summer.
And as for the "wot no actors" I can orate I think quite well in English.
So tell me if I can help you on that. I am no professional but if I can assist...
Regards
Stefanos
Very interesting, Stefanos. Do bring your medical kit and be prepared to talk about it. A volunteer for acting will be very useful. I don't know what we may stage, yet, but knowing you'll help is a good start. Do you fancy the role of Choragos? Is there any play or theme you would like us to stage?

Paul
Definitly I will bring my medikit and I can give a talk about it.
I can give also a small talk of the evolution of the Greek alphabet and (or) Hoplite heraldry. I will prsesent staff that yet has not been translated into Eglish based on an article of my friend George Iliopoulos
I cannot think of a patricular play that I fancy more than the others.
I think I can do a reasoanble choragos.
Ideas for acting:
Troops swearing the oath not to retreat. (Platea is agood example)
A General giving engouragement to his troops Thukidides and Xenophon sre full of cases. If you tell me the passage you chose I can memorise it in English.
If there are civilians then ladies can demonstrate the "TAN I EPI TAS" of the Spartans or how miserable was the life of a "ripsaspis" -desserter