Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
A presumed bronze spur - advice needed
Hello to everybody,
perhaps this topic is in the wrong section...in that case, please kindly move it to the right place. In a set of metallic objects dated generically to the ‘Roman age’ from the north-west of Italy, collected during the 18th century, I have noticed this bronze object described as a ‘handle’.
I must state beforehand that I am not an expert in this kind of material… but it reminded me of a spur, close to the curved type (the oldest one?) with hooks ends.

Since you are certainly more competent than me, I would like to ask for a suggestion on this object… what do you think?

Thanks in advance for any help,
Best!
S.M.

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

--------
SM.

ὁπλῖται δὲ ἀγαθοὶ καὶ ἀκροβολισταί (Strabo,IV, 6, 2)
It's not a spur. Could it be part of the horse's harness?
Author: Bronze Age Military Equipment, Pen & Sword Books
You need Jurvengis or moi for this
They know horse stuff
Kevin
Kevin
Thanks for your answers... I am very ignorant on the horses stuff

kevin mills wrote:

You need Jurvengis or moi for this. They know horse stuff

Indeed, I hope to have their opinion ... perhaps it really is a handle Wink
--------
SM.

I've been thinking about the picture last night. My first though was it not being a spur and I think that would still be my guess.

But what else might it be. I find most cavalry uses unlikely. I can't see it being part on the horses tack nor being used on the bridle (although there is a wide variety of bridles, which use I don't all know)

I think I therefore would go for the option 'chest handle' as was said before. But for the same time it could indeed be horsey stuff or something completely different.
ALA I BATAVORUM
Looks a bit like a miniature yoke :-)
Christian K.

No reconstruendum => No reconstruction.

Ut desint vires, tamen est laudanda voluntas.