Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Looking for good starter Ref Books
I studied some brief Roman history in my world history college course and got extremely interested in Roman history. I have Suetonius's life of the twelve caesars and have heard mixed reviews of it. Anyone have thoughts on this? Is it worth the read? I would like to read a good book to give me a good over all idea of the emperor's/Caesar's of Rome. Any other thought's for a good book??<br>
Thanks guys.<br>
Carl Kramer <p></p><i></i>
Of course it's worth the read! :-) Suetonius is brilliant! You have to take him with a grain of salt, however: he is EXTREMELY harsh on the Emperors. A lot of what he writes is rumor and he is obsessed with scandal. He gives the reader the impression that Rome was in chaos, ruled by madmen. While the latter statement may be true in some cases, Rome was quite stable until the death of Nero and the begining of the Year of Four Emperors. The picture Suetonius paints is jaded, true, but it is still well worth the read. <p></p><i></i>
is this a good starter book though? or should I start with somthing else that may be more based on fact? Could you recomend any more good starter books?<br>
-Carl Kramer <p></p><i></i>
There are plenty of good places to start; just have to figure out where. Sander has put together a list that I've written up that relates to topics discussed here.<br>
<br>
www.geocities.com/richsc5...ander.html<br>
<br>
When they get back from Rome, I'm sure he'll have another great list. Try the RA.COM site too for a reading list. <p>Aulus<br>
Legio XX
</p><i></i>
Richard Campbell
Legio XX - Alexandria, Virginia
RAT member #6?
thank you everyone for all your help!<br>
Sincerely,<br>
Carl Kramer<br>
<p></p><i></i>
Suetonius was a biographer, I have no respect for him<br>
<br>