Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Making a Corinthian Helm?
Hello to everyone, this is my first post on the forum, but I've been a long time lurker. I recently have been looking into how the Corinthian helm was made but haven't found much in the way of specifics besides that they were made out of one piece or bronze.

I'm in the process of making my own shield now (shaping the interior now:x )
and wanted to see if a helm could be "home-made" as well. I'm only an amateur in the realm of reproduction armor, however I'm experienced as an artist(working towards a double major art/art history).

Any help would be appreciated, Thanks in advance
-Eric DeMott
Wellcome on (the trireme's) board! Could you please add your real name,it's a forum rule.
Well,I think it's a bit optimistic to make your own corinthian,but if you really can do it,you should make profit of it! There are loads of people who would love to see alternative sources for corinthian helmets.
This site might help you,or at least give you an idea.
http://members.aol.com/gijchar/greeknew.htm
Look through other sections of the site,not only the greek one,you might find some more bits of information.
Khaire
Giannis
Giannis K. Hoplite
a.k.a.:Giannis Kadoglou
a.k.a.:Thorax
[Image: -side-1.gif]
Thank you for the welcome and the link Big Grin

I had come across that site while doing my research but as you can see the "tutorial" cuts off right before the tricky part, that is, giving it that distinctive Corinthian look. The more I try to wrap my mind around the design and the execution the more I am puzzled as to how these helms were made. After I finish my aspis I'll have to turn my full attention to making a helm by trial and error(hopefully more trials than errors).

Thanks again Giannis, looking forward to more input.

Smile
-Eric DeMott
Most of the Corinthian helmets I have seen were cast bronze, if that is of any help.
Christian K.

No reconstruendum => No reconstruction.