Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
tattoos
I am new to Roman re-enactment, but immediately I have a concern...I have tribal tattoos on my forearms. All black inkwork, some celtic some generic tribal marks.

Is this going to be a problem? Can I cover them? Recommendations please....
Richard Wynne
Having a tattoo myself, I think they can easily be covered over, and if not, there is always that "suspend reality" bit where we just ignore the motor vehicles driving about in the background. Then again, my tattoo may not have the same implications as a standard one...

[Image: n63700315_30080199_9507.jpg]
[Image: RAT_signature2.png]
I wouldn't worry about it too much, but it would depend on your group leader I suppose. It wouldn't be an issue with me, but some might, you never know.

Legion: TBD
Salve. Welcome to re-enactment.

The answer depends very much on two things - your chosen impression(s) and your group. If it's the Vicus, I believe they have very good standards of authenticity, combined with nice reasonable members - an admirable combination Big Grin

The usual arbiter of what goes on display will be a kit guide or authenticity officer, but asking experienced members of the group concerned will usually indicate a way. So, most groups will say 'no non-period, evidenced tats on display', but covering them is dead easy in the Late Roman, Saxon & Viking periods - long sleeves, which should do for Iron Age Brits, if the tats are deemed unsuitable - probably down to exact designs. I think the only definite evidence for patterns is continental - bog or iceman, can't quite recall. :?