Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Questions on the metallurgy of helmets
I'm curious about something. It seems, from what I've gleaned from the web, historical accounts, and re-enactor kit, that helmets (is Galaeii the word?) in the Republican era seemed to be made mainly of brass or bronze. While Imperial ones were made from iron or steel. Why is that? It seems significant that milites would have lorica hamatas, steel gladii, and iron spearheads, yet they'd still have their heads protected with softer metals.

What I'd like to know is, do brass or bronze have some quality that makes it better to have on your head than your body? Or is it a question of economy? I'm no expert, but I know that iron is more extensive and costly to make than brass and bronze. Or simply infrastructure? If there isn't a standing army, as in Republican times, then it may be there wasn't a standing industry to be making all that steel.

And that leads to another question. Would it have been steel? I had the impression that steel was an early medieval innovation, rather than Roman. Don't know why, maybe it' something I read.
---AH Mervla, aka Joel Boynton
Legio XIIII, Gemina Martia Victrix
Salve Merula,

Brass/bronze is just a hard as wrought iron. The idea that brass was an inherently weaker metal is simply wrong. Iron in its natural state has a Vickers harness rating of 100, so does brass/bronze. Add a bit more tin to the mixture and anneal the brass and it doubles the harness to 200 VS. Roman iron, like all iron of the period (except for Wootz steel from India) was impure with many inclusions in the metal, so it was softer than many modern steels. As a result the relative performance between brass and iron helmets would be much the same. I don't know of any studies that show that iron helmets were hardened.