Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Dumbest Question ever posted: Need help with socks\\udones
I would like to make a pair or two for myself and would like some help. This was all inspired by the Civil War reenactor who walked by and started bitching that my socks didnt look very authentic. As I was trying to pull my Gladius out of his dead carcass (got stuck in his ribs) I thought, "Hey maybe he was right, oh well." Anyway, my questions is would they have worn these in warm weather? I have to as I cut my Caligae a bit to long and they are loose. Socks really help with the fit. if anyone could chime in and help out that would be super. Oh, also if there is a link to a pattern, and what type of fabric to use that would be great as well. I am new to re-enacting so please be nice!
Kevin Dopke

Marcus Lucilius Severus
Legio XXIV
Kevin you have a couple options here.

There have been both "knitted" and cloth socks found. I suggest you look at Matt Amts page on cold weather clothing for the cloth socks instructions. http://www.larp.com/legioxx/coldcloth.html

As for the "knitted" there is some debate if they were actually knitted in the manner we are familiar with, or if they were all naalbinded with a single needle.

I have handled both styles of "knitting" and there is a distinct difference in the appearance. However if they are worn, and washed in hot water the wool will felt and making almost no visable difference in the two styles .

my wife is a life time knitter, and naalbind (er) and she says from the original Roman socks she has seen they were using both methods.
"...quemadmodum gladius neminem occidit, occidentis telum est."

a.k.a. Paul M.
I prefer a lamb skin liner.. we've nicknamed them "Uggones"

Second choice is a folded "boot liner" of heavy felted wool to which additional feted wool soles can be sewn
...to make either use the pattern below..