Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Segmentata sizing help?
Hi,
Newbie here, i looked all over the boards trying to find some info on sizing etc. i think Ive got it all except the breast plate. Ive enlarged the patterns from the Legio XX site and have sized all of the parts for the corbridge "a" style except for the breast plates. Ill be using it for re-enactment and sca combat if possible and will be making all parts from scratch (except the sheet steel). In sizing the breast plate as it stands it falls very short full size of covering my chest . What is a good point to size the plate to (width) in relation to my chest. The full size pattern seems i could widen the plates by a full 2 inches each and be about right. I guess I'm just trying to find the point on my body where its supposed to rest. Ill be making the entire suit of 16g cold rolled steel, id rather go 18 bottom 16 top but the 16 was free and I'm cheap. Ive just about finished my hinges and have all my rivets made (from instructions found here :-) ) ) the cardboard pattern is done minus the sizing of the breastplate. Once i finish that ill be bending and riveting within the week.
Also one more thing, regarding tinning, when you tin the steel, what is the appropriate grade of abrasive to finish it with?

Thank you and i apologize for such a long winded question

Neil

Caius Scipio
Neil / Caius Scipio
Hey Neil....as a guide...you want 2 things.

1. Make sure the breastplate fits in proportion to the rest of the plates around it. You don't want 100% sized collar and shoulder plates, next to a 300% enlarged breast plate.

2. Make sure the overall fit of the breastplate actually fits. If you follow point number one you should be ok. If you enlarged the collar and back plates by 25% more than the original, you should do the same to the breast plates.