Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Lorica Plumata
Hi everyone. I am new to RAT although I have read many of your wonderful posts and have learned a great deal. I was interested in knowing if anyone has any photos of the Augsburg Plumata along with any details relating to chainmail ring sizes and scales sizes. Big Grin
"You have to laugh at life or else what are you going to laugh at?" (Joseph Rosen)

Paolo
According to Robinson (1975/Armour of Imperial Rome), the Augsburg lorica plumata basically consists of a bronze lorica hamata with iron and bronze scales fitted alternatingly to the bronze rings.
(I don't know if the iron scales were tinned, but I think it very likely)

The size of the scales is reported to be 1 cm by 0,7 cm.

I've got two images of this scale/mail cuirass, but their quality is not the best. Send me a pm with your email address if you are interested.
Florian Himmler (not related!)
Hmm. I looked at the original several times, and it always seemed to me that the chainmail is iron and the scales are bronze, not vice versa. The mail is alternating punched /riveted the outer diameter of the rings is 4 mm (sic!). The size of the scales is just like Florian has said above.
There are sveral iron scales, but to speak of alternating for the whole armour would be a bit too far. If you look at my pic below you will see that on the right part of the left piece there are no iron scales at all. Probably only the shoulder doubling had the alternating scales. But I´ll have a closer look next time I´m there.
[Image: DSC02692.jpg]
Christian K.

No reconstruendum => No reconstruction.

Ut desint vires, tamen est laudanda voluntas.
Yep, seems to be the case Big Grin

Good image!
Florian Himmler (not related!)
Thank you Mr. Himmler and Mr. Koepfer for the information Big Grin ?: