Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
" Newbie " Question
New to RAT ... I have basic knowledge & understanding of the Roman Empire & its Army, but would like to go more in depth ...

Any suggestions on where I might begin My Quest for further Knowledge that would help me to become more educated & to help with My starting re-enacting ... ??? ... Print, Websites, Video. etc ...

Thanks ...
Travis Tribe
1.) Get Bishop & Coulston Roman Military Equipment 2006, ISBN 1842171593. Get it any way you can. :!:

2.) There are a number of books on the Roman Army, but Archeology and History are taught by several different schools of thought. Europeans have a monopoly on original source and Americans have to play second string to opinion when it comes to "hands on" on actual sites and artifacts. Arrow ( I am not trying to start any argument ... its the plain logistical truth.) 8) This may not even be a conscious or logical process. The American "school" of archaeological theory (post-processualism) is descended from the "Systems Theory" approach, so you will probably be more comfortable with Le Bohec The Imperial Roman Army 1989, (eng. trls. 1986) ISBN 0-7818-0259-8. It does not address equipment well as well as the rest of the Army system. Others will disagree with me, or Le Bohec, or both, and will suggest a number of respected sources. (see below).

3.) If you get six historians and/or archaeologist in the same room you will nine different opinions. :twisted: There are no hard and fast answers to many simple questions. This often starts debates (professional term for arguments) among almost everyone, almost all of the time. This is frustrating for the newcomer who is bewildered because he cant get a straight answer to " What helmet is the best and where do I get one? Cheap." Confusedhock: But the debate is half the fun. :o