Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Shield boss and sword
Hi everyone,
I am a student in conservation, and this year I have a sword and a schield boss, found in the Netherlands close to Maastricht. They are dated at the second half of the 5th century. Pictures of the boss can be seen in the attachements. Pictures of the sword (X-rays) will be attached in a second message. I am looking for some more information about the type. If anyone knows more about these objects, or has some references you can reply me on this message or on my e-mailadres: cansjeATyahoo.fr
Thank you,
regards,
ansje
Here are the pictures of the sword. Number 1 is the beginning, number 5 is the point.
ansje
They look fairly standard early 'Merovingian', Ansje...
Are the scabbard's chape, locket and buckle (plus the pommel) silver or just copper alloy?

Regards,

Aitor
It\'s all an accident, an accident of hands. Mine, others, all without mind, from one extreme to another, but neither works nor will ever.

Rolf Steiner
They are all copper alloy.
Indeed, they should be early Merovingian, but I am not so familiar with all these different types.
Thank you for your reaction.
ansje
Ansje,
I'm no expert on that period but, if nobady else reacts, I can trace some bibliography for you. AFAIK, both items are fairly common ones 8)

Aitor
It\'s all an accident, an accident of hands. Mine, others, all without mind, from one extreme to another, but neither works nor will ever.

Rolf Steiner
Hi Aitor,
nobody seems to reply, so it would be very nice if you could help me with the bibliography.
Thank you
ansje
Ansje or Aitor, could you explain to me the function of the modern soldered copper loops on the shield boss?

M.VIB.M.
Bushido wa watashi no shuukyou de gozaru.

Katte Kabuto no O wo shimeyo!

H.J.Vrielink.
to hold the piece together? That is very clever, (sorry to stick my nose in again) I have never seen that before either! (possibly because I am not an archaeologist!