Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Gladius thrust?
I'm new to the gladius so have some questions. If there's a website that describes gladius/scutum techniques in detail please list the link. Thanks in advance.

Anyone know what the standard gladius thrust was like?

1) Was it left foot forward with a right straight arm thrust (sort of like a boxer's cross)?

2) Was the blade horizonal or vertical when thrusting? With horizonal it seems you'd be coming in at an angle to your opponent instead of straight on. Unlike a rapier it seems the gladius can't point as straight when turned horizontal.

Thanks!
==============
Vitapondera

J. Park
I'm no expert, but think of what you're thrusting into:

1) into the abdomen, it's not important which way the plane of the blade is, because it will penetrate and wound at any angle.

2) into the ribs, the blade should be parallel to the ground, so the point goes between the ribs, rather than having to try to cut through them.

At the back of the knee, the blade should again be flat to the ground, but pulled back toward the front of the knee, as the blade slices through the tendons.

I would say the typical stance would have the left leg forward, but of course, a passing thrust would be used when advancing or retreating a step, putting the right leg forward temporarily. This stance provides less protection for the legs, though, as the scutum would be on the left side. Some armies put a greave on the left only, as did various kinds of gladiators...indicating the favoring of left leg forward.

Any way you go, it's better to be the one holding that gladius than the one being cut, yes?
M. Demetrius Abicio
(David Wills)

Saepe veritas est dura.
Remember lads, six inches of point beats any amount of edge!
Jack
Up the Augusta!
You know it has long struck me as strange that Vegetius rams that point home, considering that most Ancient Warrior types must have been acquainted with the deadliness of wounds inflicted by Spears...