Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Cananefatian cavalryman
[Image: cananefate_sws.JPG]
This is the tombstone of a Cananefatian soldier. Actually, it's a replica from an original said to be in Algeria. (The replica was in the Swaensteyn Museum in Voorburg; which does not reply to an earlier question.) Does anybody know where the original is?

And another question that will no doubt betray my utter ignorance of the details of ancient warfare: I have never seen a cavalry man with a lance like this. The exception is in the imagebase. He's also a Cananefate. Were the Canafates known as lanciers?

(I studied in Leiden, worked in The Hague; I ought to know more about the tribe that lived over there.)
Jona Lendering
Relevance is the enemy of history
My website
I think he's shown in N.Benseddik, Les troupes auxiliaires de l'armée romaine en Maurétanie Césarienne sous le Haut-Empire (Paris 1979).
Spaul, ALA 2 states that the stone was found in Tipasa, which has a museum.

Can we have the photo for the imagebase, please? Big Grin
Greets!

Jasper Oorthuys
Webmaster & Editor, Ancient Warfare magazine
Quote:Can we have the photo for the imagebase, please? Big Grin
It's on it's way. Remember this is not the real thing but a copy.
Jona Lendering
My website
A similar two-handed use of the lance is shown in the Dura Europos graffito. This seems to be typical for the kontos, and I presume it is the same mentioned by Tacitus for the Sarmatians.
Felix Wang
Quote:A similar two-handed use of the lance is shown in the Dura Europos graffito. This seems to be typical for the kontos, and I presume it is the same mentioned by Tacitus for the Sarmatians.
I think I know the graffito; isn't it some sort of catapgract like this one? Can you tell more about the kontos?
Jona Lendering
My website
Quote:I have never seen a cavalry man with a lance like this.