Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Gladiator Training
Outside of a program on History Channel(Warrior School) dealing shortly with the subject, I have little knowledge of what kind of training the gladiators went through. I can only assume that strength, stamina, and weapon skills were top on the list of priorities.

So, does anyone know how the gladiators trained? Or perhaps someone could recommend a good book on the subject?
"There are some who call me... Tim..."

Sic vis pacem, para bellum

Exitus acta probat

Nemo saltat sobrius

Dulce et decorum est pro patria mori

Fortes Fortuna Aduvat

"The enemy outnumber us a paltry three to one! Good odds for any Greek!"
In German (some of them had been translated into English I guess):

Marcus Junkelmann. Das Spiel mit dem Tod - So kämpften Roms Gladiatoren. Verlag Philipp von Zabern, 2000
ISBN 3-8053-2563-0

Thomas Wiedemann. Kaiser und Gladiatoren - Die Macht der Spiele im antiken Rom. Wissenschaftliche Buchgesellschaft, 2001

Fik Meijer. Gladiatoren - Das Spiel um Leben und Tod. Artemis & Winkler, 2004
ISBN 3-7608-2303-3

Eckart Köhne und Cornelia Ewigleben (Hrsg). Caesaren und Gladiatoren - Die Macht der Unterhaltung im antiken Rom (Ausstellungskatalog). Verlag Philipp von Zabern, 2000
ISBN 3-8053-2614-9

Österreichisches Archäologisches Institut / Grabung Ephesos (Hrsg). Gladiatoren in Ephesos - Tod am Nachmittag (Ausstellungskatalog). Wien 2002
ISBN 3-900305-42-0

(taken from Medusas post *wink* in the Antikefan Forum)
Susanna

<a class="postlink" href="http://www.musica-romana.de">www.musica-romana.de

A Lyra is basically an instrument to accompaign pyromanic city destruction.
Salve Susanna,

Thanks for mentioning the books I'd stated in the Antikeforum:

Quote:In German (some of them had been translated into English I guess):

Marcus Junkelmann. Das Spiel mit dem Tod - So kämpften Roms Gladiatoren. Verlag Philipp von Zabern, 2000
ISBN 3-8053-2563-0

Unfortunately not translated into English yet.