Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
A question for the experts...
Hi there,

I was the other day at Chinese History Forum and they were discussing the topic of Roman shield formations. I am familiar with the variation of the TESTVDO. Now they were actually talking about a shield wall formation. Did the Romans have a name for this?...and...what were the different shield formations that the Romans used? Thanks in advanced.

Smile
aka: Julio Peña
Quote:"audaces Fortuna iuvat"
- shouted by Turnus in Virgil\'s Aeneid in book X just before he is utterly destroyed by Aeneas\' Trojans.
I'm not an expert, but AFAIK:

Fulcum (foulkon) = anti cavalry spiked barrier http://www.fectio.org.uk/shows/2005archeonlitus8.jpg

Testudo= tortoise [Image: h3-gp-29h1f-3.jpg]

Cuneus = wedge [Image: romanj.jpg]

Aciem = single battle line [Image: roman_soldiers.jpg]
[Image: 120px-Septimani_seniores_shield_pattern.svg.png] [Image: Estalada.gif]
Ivan Perelló
[size=150:iu1l6t4o]Credo in Spatham, Corvus sum bellorum[/size]
Ave et gratias Faventiano!

Btw, nice pic with the FVLCVM formation...
- shouted by Turnus in Virgil\'s Aeneid in book X just before he is utterly destroyed by Aeneas\' Trojans.
Thanks! I'm in there!! Big Grin
Ivan Perelló
same here............ in the CvNEvS hehehehe

M.VIB.M.
Bushido wa watashi no shuukyou de gozaru.

Katte Kabuto no O wo shimeyo!

H.J.Vrielink.
Quote:same here............ in the CvNEvS hehehehe

M.VIB.M.
With the X Gemina?
Ivan Perelló
The notorious X togetha with the guard......... yessssssssssssssssss

long time ago.......... hehehe but was a laugh!

M.VIB.M.
Bushido wa watashi no shuukyou de gozaru.

Katte Kabuto no O wo shimeyo!

H.J.Vrielink.