Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Strange Flashback
Salve,
I just got back from a trip to England, but thats not important. In my free time I visited some ancient roman sites and a very wierd thing happened to me. I experienced a massive wave of emotions and had a flashback like thing when I visited Hadrians wall. It was as if I had been there already but I have never been to England, I ended up sitting on the ruins of the wall for about two hours in complete isolation. It was very strange, anything remotely like this happen to anyone else? And no I have not been drinking... Wink
Gavin Creegan
Yes, that's happened to me. Recently when I was driving through Selkirk, NY, I felt tears welling up in my eyes and felt a pain in my chest. I turned to my wife and said, "This is where I died."

Long, past-life memory story involved here. Suffice to say I was an officer in the British army during the American Revolution.

The part that really baked my noodle was when she said, "That bridge we just crossed was where I almost died in that car accident when Bubb (our son) was a baby."

[Edited to add: I've had a couple more experiences like that, and maybe if I ever make it over to Europe again (haven't been there since I was eight years old), maybe I'll get one of those feelings at a Roman site, too. Smile )]
AVETE OMNES
MARIVS TARQVINIVS VRSVS
PATER FAMILIAS DOMVS VRSVM
-Tom
I once spend an evening at Old Sarum, the Iron Age hillfort north of Salibury. I have visited the UK on a number of occasions, and must have visited droves of hillforts, Roman and other ancient site. But at that time, I had a very nast impression of not being welcome. I can't still feel that emotion, even though it happened back in 1989.

Since that time, I only once had a similar feeling a few years ago on a prehistoric site here in The Netherlands.
Robert Vermaat
FECTIO Late Romans
THE CAUSE OF WAR MUST BE JUST
(Maurikios-Strategikon, book VIII.2: Maxim 12)