Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hello from a new member and question about Subarmilis
Hello everyone,

I am new to the reenactment community although I have a strong background in Roman History and I am an avid collector of ancient coins:

[url:xqdy3n5p]http://www.congiano.com/MyCoins/index.htm[/url]

Although creating a set of Roman Armor originally started out as an idea for my Halloween costume, it has blossomed into a desire to put together an authentic Roman Officer’s military garb.

Creating the Subarmilis with Pteruges should not be much of an issue as I am rather handy when it comes to working with leather. Source for constructing Subarmilis:

[/url]www.legionxxiv.org/centurionpage[/url]

Could anyone point me in the direction of other, step by step, examples of the Subarmilis?

Thanks,
Anthony Congiano… oops, I’m sorry Antonius Congianocus Tongue
Salve Antonius If you want Officers kit it can be very expensive, may I suggest Nix Imperial which have many Officer type materials ie Attic Helms with Red crests.Also Valentine Armouries in Canada sell officer type stuff ie body armour sutiable for an officer Take care Constaine Valens
He who desires peace ,let him prepare for war. He who wants victory, let him train soldiers diligently. No one dares challenge or harm one who he realises will win if he fights. Vegetius, Epitome 3, 1st Century Legionary Thomas Razem
Salve Antonius, Check out Matt Amt's LegioXX site for basic ideas and also George Metz' LegioXXIV has some great pictures of a Centurion's sub. that he made(pictures there are very good). Smile
Andy Booker

Gaivs Antonivs Satvrninvs

Andronikos of Athens
Big Grin Thanks guys! Nix Imperial does have some awesome Attic Style helms but, you are right about the prices... a bit expensive, worth the money and great stuff but, expensive.

I'm quite sure I dont' need a gold plated helm, want one perhaps but need one, na. :wink:

Eh, well the holidays are coming! Tongue