Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Helmet and armor type question
Newbie here. What type of armor is consistant with the Gallic C helmet?
Russell Hill
Hi Newbie,

Welcome to RAT.
But could you add your real name to your sig?
Robert Vermaat
FECTIO Late Romans
THE CAUSE OF WAR MUST BE JUST
(Maurikios-Strategikon, book VIII.2: Maxim 12)
Should I also mention that I like puppy dogs and ice cream too. My favorite color is blue if anybody wants to know. Long walks on the beach and italian food is the way to impress me. I also like roses.Smile
Russell Hill
Quote:Newbie here. What type of armor is consistant with the Gallic C helmet?

There isn't any type consistant, you can wear hamata, segementata or if you can get a decent replica of it made squamata.
Tiberius Claudius Vindex
Coh I Nerv
aka Chris Goshey

<a class="postlink" href="http://www.geocities.com/naginata12084/hpage.html">http://www.geocities.com/naginata12084/hpage.html
If I'm not mistaken, the Gallic C is a 1st century AD type so either the usual Lorica hamata or a Corbridge Lorica segmentata would be appropriate.

Oh, and the reason Robert asked you to put your real name in your signature section is because it's a forum rule- so everyone knows who they're talking to, rather than just some screen name.
See FABRICA ROMANORVM Recreations in the Marketplace for custom helmets, armour, swords and more!
That explains what I was looking to find out. I was wondering why it is that most reenactors portraying legionaires use the same type helmet instead of a variety. Is it just for consistancy with their legion? Also thanks for explaining the name thing.
Russell Hill
Hi Russell,