Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Navy on the go organization
Greetings,

I'm studying the organization of the greek navies, still lots to learn...

In the meantime, I'd thank a bunch for pointers or info about this specific issue:

in a (460BCE) Delian League fleet of 200 trieres, with approx. composition of:

100 Athens
40 Samos
60 Naxos, Chios, Euboea, Megara, Lesbos, etc...

how would the fleet organize itself?

I have an athenian navarch, but I can imagine that such a big fleet would be organized in smaller squads, maybe by city, or island, and in the Athenian case, by demoi (considering that by 460, the trierarchies didn't have the power they used to have).

Thanks for your help!
Episkopos P. Lilius Frugius Simius Excalibor, :. V. S. C., Pontifex Maximus, Max Disc Eccl
David S. de Lis - my blog: <a class="postlink" href="http://praeter.blogspot.com/">http://praeter.blogspot.com/
From the early Archaic era in the Aegean Islands the Stratigos or Polemarchos was doubling as a naval senior comander. Navarhos survives mostly in athenian texts but it means literally "the leader of the ships" so it was used by any other city state capable of fielding more than two or three vessels.
According to the "Great Military-Naval Encyclopedia" - 1938: it was Polykratis the Samian in the late Archaic Era that had a large fleet and divided in MOIRAI (pronounced MIRE). MOIRA ionic dialect - MORA doric dialect means section. The leader was called MOIRARCHOS or MERARCHOS. The size of MOIRA varied.
The trirem captain would be PLOIARCHOS (shipmaster) equivalent to captain and his assistant IPOPLOIARCHOS (assistant shipmaster) Inscription in Stylida mentions PLOTARCHIS (roughly leader of the floating).
It survives as rank in the modern Greek Navy but we do not know what exatly was the rank at that time.
Naukliros (the one who devides the ship) more akin to the NCO assigning duties to the crew. Still survives in the Greek navy.