Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
My first try in making a Spolas
Hello everyone,

Apart from my introduction on RAT this is my first post. Also my first time in making something out of leather.
Since I was a student many years ago I wanted to make a linothorax (the site of Matthew Amt gave me the vibes).

And now for obvious reasons known to most here I opted to make a Spolas instead ;-) As said, my first try at
making something myself out of leather and I must say I'm satisfied with how it turned out Smile

Sadly I'm not into reenacting Greek antiquity (living in the Netherlands) but the Spolas is a welcome addition to my mancave.

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Johan T.
Gorgeous!
Do you have any process photos of the construction? I haven't mustered the courage to try making a leather spolas, not to mention one so elaborate with beautiful scales! I'd love to see a full write up of how you made this, costs and suggestions. That might give me the confidence to try it. Right now I have a bell cuirass (in brass) that I modified to fit me.
Sure thing, will come up with something.
Johan T.
Part 1

When looking for pictures I realized that, in the heat of the moment, I forgot to make them during a considerable amount of stages so please forgive me for that Sad

I never intended to make a walkthrough of my project for that matter Wink

Of course I started with making templates from cardboard. I taped the edges with a few layers of 3m-tape to a) prevent damaging the template when cutting the leather and b) make sure the cuts in the leather where as clean as can be.