Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Panoply advice

Hey everyone,

I'm in the beginnings of creating a kit. This is my first time researching ancient Greek history with any sort of seriousness, so bear with my ignorance on some matters.

Attached is a rough of sketch of my best conclusions after some brief preliminary research, of a CA 500 BC Lacedaemonian Hoplite.

There are some points I am unsure about.

-Spartan shoes - When did these come into vogue?

- Corinthian helm - "ear cutouts at 500BC or not?" (I chose 510BC - 500BC to avoid the Pilos helm altogether, so if need be ill go earlier)

- Scales on the Tube and Yoke cuirass - Is the amount of scales attached here reasonable or did I overdo it?

Id welcome anyone who would like to point out ANY inaccuracies with this sketch. Sources are appreciated.
Thank you in advance.

LEO 
(Ryan)
Hi, Ryan. Welcome to RAT. Your attachment doesn't seem to have attached. I can't see your sketch.
Author: Bronze Age Military Equipment, Pen & Sword Books
(03-20-2019, 12:11 AM)leoviiiiv Wrote: Hey everyone,

I'm in the beginnings of creating a kit. This is my first time researching ancient Greek history with any sort of seriousness, so bear with my ignorance on some matters.

Attached is a rough of sketch of my best conclusions after some brief preliminary research, of a CA 500 BC Lacedaemonian Hoplite.

There are some points I am unsure about.

-Spartan shoes - When did these come into vogue?

LEO 
(Ryan)

I think you mean Laconian or "Laconikai" a type of simple footware favoured by Spartans (or those who favored Spartan philosophy) unfortunatly I can't see your pic so cant comment on that, but there seems no clear evidence other then ambiguous sculptures and literary sources so identifying and dating for any given style would be problematic.