Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
1912 Publication of a La Tène Shield
Hi Crispianus,

here are the two types of shield grip as I understand them.

[Image: two-shield-constructions.jpg]

I did not know the debate about how long the 'new grips' were, but it seems like they were longer than the old grips as well as standing above the back of the shield and not being flat to the shield. They are the only type of grip which I know survives from the Viking world.

I think the fittings you talk about in Pedersen's figure 4.10 would be decorations for the ends of the 'new grip' although I am only a curious amateur when it comes to the Viking Age.
Nullis in verba

I have not checked this forum frequently since 2013, but I hope that these old posts have some value. I now have a blog on books, swords, and the curious things humans do with them.
(08-06-2023, 05:50 AM)Sean Manning Wrote: Hi Crispianus,

here are the two types of shield grip as I understand them.

[Image: two-shield-constructions.jpg]

I did not know the debate about how long the 'new grips' were, but it seems like they were longer than the old grips as well as standing above the back of the shield and not being flat to the shield.  I think the fittings you talk about in Pedersen's figure 4.10 would be decorations for the ends of the 'new grip' although I am only a curious amateur when it comes to the Viking Age.

For the sake of argument I'm going to call your first image type1 (inserted grip) and the second image type3 (raised grip)

Type 1 exists at Birka in at least one example tentatively dated to the 8th century (Viking age starts 750AD+) I don’t know of others but haven’t spent the time looking, it could also be earlier.

Type 3 is represented by Gokstad ? and Trelleborg.

So now I'll describe  type 2 (inserted grip with raised reinforcing)