Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Primus pilus bis
One request and a few questions.  First, I have seen Birley's article "Legionary Centurion or Equestrian Officer..." cited multiple times and would very much like to read it. Unfortunately, I am not a professor or student and cannot find it anywhere online. Without violating copyright restrictions, does anyone reading this post know where I might be able to find a copy of the article?

Also, I am still trying to understand the curious position (for me, anyway) of a primus pilus bis. 
First, is this an appointment made by the Emperor? 
Second, where in a legion's command hierarchy would you place the primus pilus bis?  The reason I ask is that I recall seeing at least one inscription, where the primus pilus bis served in an urban tribunate (or two) before returning to the legion as a primus pilus bis. If that's the case, would the primus pilus bis outrank the praefectus castorum?  The Romans were such a rank/status conscious people that I can't imagine anybody serving in the urban tribunates and then returning to the legion in a lesser rank/status position.
Third, did the primus pilus bis receive a greater salary than the primus pilus?  If so, what was the salary?
Fourth, what was the purpose of the primus pilus bis?  In other words, why appoint somebody, who has already served as a primus pilus, to serve as a primus pilus a second time? 
Fifth, wouldn't the appointment of primus pilus bis be bad for morale?  After all, while he was serving, there would be no opportunity for the more senior centurions in the legion to be promoted to primus pilus and eventually, become an Equestrian.   
Sixth, are there instances where a primus pilus bis was appointed to take command of a vexallatio (i.e., a special military mission)? 
Finally, did anyone serve 3 or 4 times as a primus pilus.  Thank you in advance for answering my questions.