Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hellenistic Armour
I am currently in charge of a research and recreation project to reconstruct the armour, clothing, and weapons of a Herodian soldier.  This will be a small part of a museum exhibit about Judea in the 1st centuries A.D./B.C.  We hope to dispel the myths that most folks have about "Israel in Jesus' time" and show the culture, land, and people, and material culture as they were (or as close as we can based on current knowledge).  Few things are as massively misunderstood by the public at large as the soldiers of the time, whether that be the native and foreign troops that served King Herod, or the Auxiliaries that garrisoned the later Province of Judea. Therefore, an important part of this exhibit will be to reconstruct the soldiers that, to some extent, bookended the life of Christ.

I am not an expert on the ancient world (most of my ancient research has been on the textiles of 1st century Israel) but I'm doing the best I can currently.  I started with the osprey book on the subject and, although helpful, I need to go further.  Knowing that Herod emulated, as much as possible, Hellenistic culture I have dug around here reading the threads on T&Y armours which have been no end of both confusing and illuminating.  But most of that has been focused on the Classical Period rather than the Hellenistic Period. I am currently looking into the bits of armour which have been found at Masada and may or may not be left over from Herodian stores.  

It's painfully hard to research the material culture of a country that refused to illustrate animate objects. Objects must either be found archeologically (precious little that i've found) or inferred from images made by surrounding/similar cultures.