Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Legio X Fretensis
I am new to Roman Army Talk, and from what I can tell it looks like a great group of people.<br>
<br>
I am a writer and am working on a story which takes place during the first half of the first century AD. It takes place in and around the Tenth. Since I demand (of myself) historical accuracy, I have a few questions to ask.<br>
<br>
1. What is the amount of detail I can expect to find about the Legio X Fretensis when doing my research? I would to find out what their involvement was on Crete. Was Crete a stop over between Italy and the Mid-East?<br>
<br>
2. Was this particular legion used in a similar fashion as are the more present day Marines? Where might I look for this type information?<br>
<br>
3. Is it possible to find out specific names of some of the various commanders during this time?<br>
<br>
4. As for their shield design. I have seen several different examples of their shield and standard designs. Where might I find accurate information?<br>
<br>
For now this is it.<br>
<br>
Thanks,<br>
Milton<br>
<p></p><i></i>
Hi Milton,<br>
Welcome to Roman Army Talk, and it's a good thing you left it at these questions, there plenty!<br>
<br>
1. The level of detail is relatively low, especially for the first half of the first century CE. The Legion was during that period in different camps in the province of Syria. No evidence is mentioned for Crete. That was certainly no stopover for units on their way to the east. The normal route was either Northern Italy across Aquileia or Brundisium-Dyrrhachium and then across the Balkans to Byzantium into Asia Minor.<br>
<br>
2. Very interesting question! You'll find no literature on that though (as yet, I am working on it). In short: Fretensis definitely had origins in naval functions, which possibly lead to a tradition. But in Syria it didn't have much occasion for it until the Jewish Revolt.<br>
<br>