Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
manipular dynamics
Hello everyone,<br>
I'm new to this but i thought I'd throw myself into the fray with this question.<br>
I have found that most sources are quite exhaustive regarding the movements of centuries or maniples within the legion during a battle, however none address very well the dynamics within the ranks. I’ll base my question on a typical republican century of 60 men deployed in a 10 x 6 formation. Upon clashing with the enemy, the front ranks become engaged. How many ranks were effectively engaged at one time? Was there a rotation of the six ranks whereby rank six eventually took the place of the first rank or was it simply a case of filling in holes in the front rank as they appeared. Was the enemy ever allowed to penetrate into the first two or three ranks or was fighting restricted solely to the first rank (something to consider while analyzing various theories regarding line changes during a battle).<br>
Or,<br>
Was it simply a case of all six ranks pushing forward equally in an attempt to break the enemy line. The 5 x 24 manipular formation used during the battle of Cannae certainly indicates “steamrollerâ€ÂÂ
Salve,<br>
<br>
The questions you have raised, have popped up before (check the index of threads) and relevant publications have been cited there. There is a lack of source material that details the exact working of unit deployments in the Roman army. Polybius, 18.30 and Vegetius, 3.15 are the main sources for deployment of the Roman army and differ in the space they assign to each individual in the battle line, though this can be explained by references to open and close order (such as Arrianus, <i> Ektaxis</i>).<br>
<br>