Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Phyrigian cap.
I have just purchased and am waiting for my Galic helmet. It will have a sewn in cover inside already but I was wondering if I could get hold of a phyrigian cap, as I have been advised of their suitability and preference to the sewn in to the helmet variety.
I have no knowledge of how to take one myself. What`s the best way of getting one and taking into account that I have little hair left on my head, so I guess a small to medium size would be best?

Thanks for any advise.

Geoff.
Geoff
The easyest way is make it yourself. get woolfelt and measure your skull. then sew it together. this also the way romans would have done it. take a tape measure and measure yuor skull diameter and make shure the halfes are big enough to go over your haed . Make a paper version first !!!!

[attachment=12518]hat.pdf[/attachment]

Attached Files
.pdf   hat.pdf (Size: 6.16 KB / Downloads: 9)
AgrimensorLVCIVS FLAVIVS SINISTER
aka Jos Cremers
member of CORBVLO
ESTE NIX PAX CRISTE NIX
Agrimensor.

Was there a particular colour or colours that the legionaries tended to go for?

Thanks for advise.
Geoff.
Geoff
How popular were the Phyrigian caps among the Romans during the Republican period?
I don't think it already spread to Rome by then.
Mark - Legio Leonum Valentiniani
Roman freedman wore a cap, as part of their manumission. I'm just wondering if it was common for regular citizens, even soldiers, to also wear them.
If my cack handedness, fails me in making one of my own, to go under my galic helmet, would the group have one or might there be a website to get hold of one?

Ta, very much thanks.

Geoff.
Geoff