Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Caligae Leather Sewing Question
I hate to trouble anyone with such an elementary question, but the directions I have for sewing caligae call for waxed linen thread. Can anyone give me any recommendations on what size thread to use or even a decent brand. Keep in mind that where leather work is concerned I am a complete amateur. Any recommendations or tips are appreciated. I will be using the old pattern from the LegioXX site and the fine pictorial instructions from the Legio XXX cohort 2 yahoo site. Than you. <p></p><i></i>
You're suppose to use linen waxed thread, but I just use artificial waxed thread sold at Micheal's craft stores. Once you've oiled the leather and particularly after you've worn your caligae for a bit no one will be able to tell the difference. Waxed thread for sewing leather is thicker than regular sewing thread. It's also nice to have as block of bees wax on hand to use on the thread ends. <p></p><i></i>
Ave!<br>
<br>
If you have access to a leather store, they probably only stock one thickness of linen thread. But it might be available either waxed or unwaxed, and in natural, brown, or black. I use the waxed natural usually, though brown isn't out of the question. And I always have a chunk of wax handy (stored on the point of my awl to avoid getting poked!) to re-wax the thread repeatedly as I sew.<br>
<br>
Lately, though, I've been getting my thread at craft stores like Total Crafts, Jo-Ann's, or Michael's. It's in the beading section.<br>
<br>
Oh, the Legio XX page on Leatherworking might help,<br>
<br>
www.larp.com/legioxx/leather.html<br>
<br>
If you use that old caligae pattern, be SURE to cut those rectangular holes with ROUNDED corners, not sharp and square as shown. Cuz those sharp corners create a perfect weak spot which is almost guaranteed to tear out. Quickly.<br>
<br>
Happy stitching! Vale,<br>
<br>
Matthew/Quintus <p></p><i></i>
Matthew Amt (Quintus)
Legio XX, USA