Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
ROMAN LEGIONARY GLADIUS TRAINING VIDEO
This is a video that I threw together based on information that I gathered from both this forum and other sources. It is by no means historically accurate but it is more of a self study on individual legionary gladius training. I am a total amateur movie maker and filmed this with my I-phone.....so don't expect much but at least I had fun making it.

Topics:

I. Roman Legionary Equipment and
the Gladius

II. Combat Stance and Drawing the
Gladius

III. Thrust Attack Techniques

IV. Target Areas of the Body

V. Individual Pell Drills without Scutum

VI. Individual Pell Drills with Scutum

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q7rPY3hq-...e=youtu.be
Thank you Brian... I enjoyed your video.
Thank you
As i allready commented on youtube:

Great video

I have to get me a training pole for my yard ;-)
http://www.nordwaechter.de

Thomas Hatzmann aka Lucius Tagomas / Halfdan Egilson
First I commend you for the very good effort, so please consider the following as constructive criticism.
Also note that I am not as familiar with military iconography as I am with Gladiatorial iconography, so I might be wrong in some cases.
1. Concerning the basic stance:
1. You actually do not need as many variations in the basic stance (or setup as you call them) as you give.
All attacks can made from a position with the Gladius grip held at about hip level and the point either straight to the front or pointing up slightly.
This would be your "midline thrust position", concerning the position of hand and blade, but I would consider your "low line thrust position" the basic stance concerning the bend of the legs and body.
In your mid line and high line basic stances your neck and face are quite exposed to thrusts and missile weapons, while in your low line crouched positions you have the perfect coverage of the the Scutum from nose to ankle.