Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Tribune\'s Muscle Cuirass
Hello everyone.

I came across this picture on the net. I believe this fine gentleman is reenacting the part of a Tribune. I'm not an expert on the matter so I'm not able to comment on the historical accuracy/authenticity of his muscle cuirass but I have to say, I think it's a wonderful looking piece! Does anybody recognize it? Can anyone tell me who the manufacturer or custom designer is?

Cheers!

[Image: Tribuno.jpg]
Omar
Actually, having said that, isn't it slightly too long?
Omar
Omar.
I think that you are correct in thinking it to be too long for I am sure he would be unable to ride a horse at all due to the extra length at the abdoman, he may well be able to sit on a seat or chair but a horse ride might just be a bit difficult.
I am sure indeed that most officers of any rank whatever would have a short cuirass for field use and not what might be considered as a poser type as worn by Emperors and other high ranking officials.
Brian Stobbs
Thanks Brian. Yes, I can see now that it really isn't very practical or combat effective. Apart from the length, I must admit I still love the overall design, even if the six pack abs are a little OTT.

Poser type? Lol I've been exposed on only my fifth post here... Wink
Omar
Omar.
I hope you don't think I was refering to yourself as a poser it was indeed the type of cuirass I was talking about, for this style is what I consider as a poser type that were worn by most Emperors with the abdoman covered.

I do agree the picture you show is in fact a nice looking cuirass but not the type that would have been worn by any officer who would be traveling on horse back in the field.
Brian Stobbs
That's an old picture of the Lafe event I think.
Hi Brian, no not at all, I know you weren't - although the day you see me wearing a red ribbon around my cuirass, then I'll freely call myself a poser! Wink
Omar
Omar.