Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Why I\'m Embarrassed to be a Queenslander.
(Dan, you are a very naughty man!) :wink:

I note a couple of school teachers in our midst. Excellent - then I can "out" myself. I was (until 2009) a secondary teacher with Education Queensland. I started in 1984 teaching Art and German in Maryborough and ended up in a school in the south west of Brisbane failing to teach English and SOSE. For the uninitiated, SOSE is Study of Society and the Environment. The initiated will realise this must mean I was a junior school teacher by then (SOSE being a junior school subject area) and indeed I was. Years 9 and 10 and not in the least unhappy not to have senior classes and all the moderation involved. On the other hand, I did have NAPLAN, but that's another story. Don't get me started.

The closer I drew to my teaching twilight, the more disillusioned I became with teaching. Not the doing of it, but what it was becoming at the hands of politicians (and not just the partisan ones in Canberra or Brisbane) and the press and in the popular understanding. As an educator, I wasn't "leading" anyone "out". I was leading kids "in" - into uni, into vocational education, into employment. Forget a liberal education. What antiquated, elitist twaddle! (While you're at it, forget universities as places of light, liberty and learning). If you haven't trained your kids up for the next stage of their march into the workforce, you've (the teacher) failed!

But, here's the thing. What workforce - what jobs? That part of the world that offers gainful employment is changing at a dizzying pace. I defy anyone to meaningfully chart backwards (which is, logically, what has to be done) from projected job vacancies in the years "x to z" to required learnings now (assuming you're happy to accept "education" is the same as "training" - I'm not).