Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Standardization of weaponry
Hello everyone,

My name is Joseph and this is my first time posting. Please forgive any breaches of forum etiquette. I am new to the world of Roman military studies.

I am a graduate student researching East Asian weaponry and military organization. I have recently become interested in learning more about such developments in the West.

I understand that the nature of the Roman military changed considerably by period, but how was the manufacture and distribution of weapons undertaken and performed (strictly government-owned workshops? Would village smiths be able to/allowed to manufacture weapons?)? Secondly, were the dimensions of swords highly standardized (length and breadth of blade, etc.)? I am particular curious about possible standardization of sword length. Has this been addressed in the literature?

I am currently reading James' Rome and the Sword. How has this book been received by military historians of the field?

Additionally, do you have any recommendations for books or journal articles on the subject of weapons distribution or standardization of weapon size?

I hope this barrage of questions wasn't too much. If you could even point me in the right direction, I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you and I look forward to learning much from this great resource of a forum,
Joseph
For a quick overview, try one or more of the Osprey books that cover a range of time and the culture that interests you. You can start your search here. Many hobby shops carry these books, and while they are not intended to be a detailed treatise, they are great for a quick look, and have considerable information packed into them. The illustrations are always very entertaining and informative.

You can get a good list here: http://www.ospreypublishing.com/ancient_world/

Hope that helps. These books are also available on Amazon and other online book sellers, new and used.
M. Demetrius Abicio
(David Wills)