Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
PTSD in ancient times - new evidence?
I know that many RAT members are of the opinion - at least that's been my impression - that soldiers didn't suffer from PTSD in ancient times.

I've always disagreed with that opinion - sticking a blade in a man's guts and seeing the light go from his eyes, and feeling his blood all over you affects everyone, even someone who is used to a short, sharp brutal life.

Anyway, there's some 'new' evidence to imply that soldiers did suffer from being in combat.
Ben Kane, bestselling author of the Eagles of Rome, Spartacus and Hannibal novels.

Eagles in the Storm released in UK on March 23, 2017.
Aguilas en la tormenta saldra en 2017.

www.benkane.net
Twitter: @benkaneauthor
Facebook: facebook.com/benkanebooks
Centurio,

PTSD is often difficult to diagnose and is generally misunderstood. As a retired Army officer, I have dealt innumerable men who have been in combat. There is no doubt in my mind that taking a life in combat changes the soldier's perspective. For some the experience perpetually haunts them, for others it is
"absorbed". Further complicating PTSD is the fact that the symptoms vary greatly: everything from mild depression to out-of-control behavior.

I agree with you that soldiers throughout history have been susceptible to PTSD or its equivalent. But a problem does arise when comparing what in the present era is presented as PTSD. Part of the problem arises out of the different context of the particular civilization and its attitudes towards life, the role of a soldier, etc.

This is a topic that is worthy of further research. Thank you for raising the issue.

Petrus Augustinus
(Pierre Kleff)
Petrus Augustinus
For all your PTSD needs in ancient history:

http://bmcr.brynmawr.edu/1994/94.03.21.html

http://www.cwu.edu/~garrison/Achilles_in_Vietnam.pdf
Francis Hagan

The Barcarii
For all your PTSD needs in ancient history:

http://bmcr.brynmawr.edu/1994/94.03.21.html