Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Technical Advice for Taking Photos of Artefacts
I'd like to make this a place for discussions about to shoot the best possible pictures under the extreme, alien and hostile circumstance the image hunter-gatherer commonly encounters in museums or archaeological sites. This includes post-processing.

How do you take shots of artefacts in display cases? I try to do it from an angle to minimize the reflections. It also helps to no small degree wearing dark T-shirts or pullovers. Still, the result is just so. But I don't know much about filters, which ones do you use?

Another challenge are graffitos, scratched stone drawings. I plan to make some shots soon but I have no experience to rely on. How can I bring out best the visibility of the markings. I need to play with the light-dark contrast somehow, don't I?

And, do you work with the RAW format?
Stefan (Literary references to the discussed topics are always appreciated.)
Yes, it helps if you have a black or dark shirt and you stand in front of the glass case inside which is the object you're taking a photo of. Try to stand between the light source and the object, if the light reflects badly from the glass. Don't use a flash, obviously. Sometimes if the museum room is very crowded, it needs some waiting in order to get a good photo of the object. But usually that's not the case when speaking of the rare objects we don't already have good photos of, they're in museums not so often crowded by tourists.
Take good pictures from each side, and maybe from top and under if possible. Sometimes it would be good to see what details the museum has given to the item, so picturing the sign of the item is not a bad idea either.