Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Burying the dead
I am newbie here.
First question: does anyone know what the Romans did about burying their dead after a hard day's battle?
I am sure the deceased were stripped of army issue, but were they buried individually, en mass, or cremated?
Welcome!

I believe this thread belongs in the Military History section.

As with most things concerning the Romans, it depended on the time, location, and the circumstances. If they were in the middle of a campaign, the soldiers would probably be stripped, identified, recorded, and and buried together in a mass grave and given basic Roman funeral rights. If it were at the end of a campaign or in peace time, then the soldiers' funeral club or comrades would see to it that their comrade got the appropriate funeral rights that matched his background. The Roman army was a multinational force composed of Italians, Scythians, Dacians, Numidians, Egyptians, Syrians, Germans, Picts, Jews, Spaniards, and hundreds of various ethnic groups that worshiped thousands upon thousands gods, spirits, and demigods. It varied a lot, depending upon what was happening at the time and the soldier's personal beliefs. I do hope this helps.

Regards,

Tyler
Tyler

Undergrad student majoring in Social Studies Education with a specialty in world history.

"conare levissimus videri, hostes enimfortasse instrumentis indigeant"
(Try to look unimportant-the enemy might be low on ammunition).
Ave civitas,

I was wondering what the Romans did with the bodies after a battle.
I understand there were mass graves for the Roman soldiers (or mass cremations), but what of the enemy?
If it is in an uninhabited area (like Aquae Sextiae) Marius just left the Germans to rot, but what about in an inhabited rural or urban area?
There must have been a dump site for the enemy dead, they couldn't just leave them laying in the streets of a captured city or all over the field.
Any suggestions?
As always, thanks.
AKA Tom Chelmowski