Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Survey on Roman Re-Enactor Methodology and Sarcina
Salvete,

I am a student of History at Dalhousie University, in Nova Scotia, and I have found these forums to be very productive and informative in helping build an understanding of the ancient world. For one of my courses, I am looking to explore the methodology of Roman Re-enactors based off of some papers published in the Journal of Roman Military Equipment Studies a couple of years back. (Specifically "Re-enactment as reasearch: towards a set of guidelines for re-enactors and academics" by W.B. Griffiths and "Recreating the world of the Roman soldier: the work of the Ermine Street Gaurd" by Tim Haines and Graham Sumner)

For this project, I've developed a survey which I've sent to a few different re-enacting groups with a web presence, but these forums should serve to help get individuals which I have not been able to speak too. If any individual which has a Sarcina would like to pm me, I'll be sure to send the survey to you to help me.

Also, I'd be interested if any of you know of more articles or writings talking about the use of re-enactors and re-eneacting to help with the academic understanding of the Romans. If you do, it'd be awesome if you mentioned them in response to this post.

I've attached the survey I am using to this post, so you can see the kinds of questions I am asking, but I don't believe it'd be very useful to respond to it in the forums itself. It'd likely be very wordy.
William Coney

Student at Dalhousie University
I don't see the attachment. But a couple of us in our group have sarcinae, and may be of some use to your study. We'd be glad to help in any way we can.
M. Demetrius Abicio
(David Wills)

Saepe veritas est dura.
Whoops. Sorry about that, must have bugged out on the attachment. It should be attached to this post.
William Coney