Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Roman army compares to the modern armies
Hi Smile ,
my name is Karolina and I am a student from Czech Republic. Right now I am working on my final essay on the topic - Structure of Czech army - I would like to dedicate about two pages to Roman army cause I know there are the basics of modern army. Since I am a girl, I am in little disadvantage, I am not really into this topic and depite of the fact I have red already all the books I found, non of them gave me answer on this - how is the structure of Roman army related to modern armies? (especially the Czech once) Maybe I already know the answer, but I just canť formulate it correctly, cause I donť know all the detailes...

Any answer would help, even the recommendation of a book
Thank you :wink: :-)
Hello Karolina - welcome to RAT!

I'm afraid I know very little about the Czech Army (and certainly even less post Glasnost!) but this thread may have some information you can use:

http://www.romanarmytalk.com/rat/17-roma...tml#315889

But the Roman Army changed and developed considerably from the Republic to the fifth centuries so you may have to limit which era of Roman Army you wish to compare and contrast with the Czech organisation.
Moi Watson

Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, Merlot in one hand, Cigar in the other; body thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and screaming "WOO HOO, what a ride!
You may find this old thread helpful, although the emphasis is more on how the Roman army and modern armies do not relate. Nevertheless, that may still be relevant to your essay.
http://www.romanarmytalk.com/rat/17-roma...ences.html
Michael King Macdona

And do as adversaries do in law, -
Strive mightily, but eat and drink as friends.
(The Taming of the Shrew: Act 1, Scene 2)
Thanks for your anwers, everythink is helpful, I will check the links :wink: