Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Tinning two sides
Ave,<br>
<br>
Is it possible to tin two sides of an object the ancient way, without ruining the side that is already done?<br>
I am asking this because I would like to tin my helmet and wondered if the partial visible backsides of the cheek pieces and the backside of the neck guard should be tinned too.<br>
<br>
Greetings,<br>
<br>
Jurgen/Quintilianus <p></p><i></i>
I am no expert, but I have talked to a few. I recently spoke with one, who said the Romans had a method of electroplating. He gave details, but I didn't have the time to right them down. <p></p><i></i>
"In war as in loving, you must always keep shoving." George S. Patton, Jr.
Salve Quintilianus<br>
<br>
The few tinned helmets that I have actually handled have only the outside tinned. The inside was left bare. Rather than the usual 'tinny dipping', the helmet must have had the coating painted on, presumably by dipping a (very thick!) rag in molten tin and wiping it onto the outside in progressive layers. Alright for a smooth helmet, but not something suitable for belt-plates etc as I think the details would be lost.<br>
<br>
Vale<br>
<br>
Celer. <p></p><i></i>
Avete!<br>
Yeah, I've heard the rumor about electroplating before, and as far as I can tell it's bunk. Seems to be based entirely on the "Baghdad Battery", a rather ambiguous artifact which may or may NOT have been used to generate a small electrical current. A quick Google search on "Baghdad Battery" turned up several articles, the facts of which are not entirely consistent. It even seems possible that this item is either misdated or even a fake.<br>
<br>
But even if it's real, and was used as a battery, everything about its purpose is PURE supposition! There is no need to assume that because this thing existed that the Romans used electroplating at all, much less on a regular basis.<br>
<br>