Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Possible fragment of Lorica Segmentata?
Does anyone know if this piece is in fact a fragment of Lorica Segmentata? I was told that it is, one that was possibly damaged in battle, but I have also heard differing opinions. One person noted that the hinges on this type of armour were usually made of a different material than the plate, which doesn't seem to be the case with this piece. It is roughly 5cm in width.

[Image: lorica2.jpg]

[Image: loricasegmentata.jpg]

Any help would be great!
I am not so sure of this being from a segmentata but then what is the provenance of this piece.
Brian Stobbs
It was found in central Europe. The dealer I got it from said he purchased it in Vienna, so it was found somewhere around there I assume, although probably not in Austria itself. I will ask him for more specific details.

I can return the piece if I find out it isn't even a piece of Roman armour.
Hello,
I'm not an expert on this subject but, as a start, you can compare your piece with the material presented in this publication here

Best!
S.M.
--------
SM.

ὁπλῖται δὲ ἀγαθοὶ καὶ ἀκροβολισταί (Strabo,IV, 6, 2)
Looking at your photo attached, it looks like the hinge-plate and the rivets are iron (ferrous material) as is the plate. It looks like the entire item is made of iron.

To the best of my knowledge, the armor we know as Lorica Segmentata had iron plates but the hinges/buckle plates and rivets, etc. were of copper-alloy (bronze or brass). I have personally seen part of the Corbridge Hoard armor and have seen photos of other confirmed artifacts - like the Kalkriese collar plate, the Bank of London collar section and more recent finds. The iron plate would be like your image above, but the copper-alloy will likely be green or if the conditions were right might still be golden in color. Definitely take a look via the link provided to Bishop & Coulston's Roman Military Equipment. My copy of the book includes photos.