Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Pilum effects on Phalanx?
When facing the Macedonian how did the Roman Pilum do against the phalanx? In Alexander's wars the Phalanx was known to deflect arrows due to the density. How did the Roman Pilum do or what would it do?
I don't know specifically about the Macedonian phalanx, but against the Nervii Julius Caesar writes it was very effective, by sometimes pinning overlapped shields together...and presumably some of the men behind the shields.
M. Demetrius Abicio
(David Wills)

Saepe veritas est dura.
But what type of shields did the Nervii carry? Were they made similarly to other Gallic shields and scutum, of wood planks glued together and encased in a skin? If so, that is directly the type of shield the pilum was designed to pierce, by Samnites if I recall.

On the flip side, and I am not an expert on Greek and Macedonian armor, weren't the shields of the Macedonian phalanx metal covered, of bronze or silver? I wonder how well an iron pilum would do against it. Some of you reenactors need to start making some You Tube videos...

Someone else can definitely answer this better than I can (Macedon, where you at?) but weren't the front rankers of the phalanx the best equipped in terms of armor? And weren't they the bravest?

If so, then the massed throwing of the pila might not have been as deadly as some would think. Their shield and armor would protect against most impacts, the unlucky would take wounds to the exposed portions of the body. If those in the front ranks were positioned there because they were steadfast and courageous, then the psychological toll of the missile barrage would probably be limited. It just the price you have to pay in war in order to get close enough to the enemy to kill them. Warrior mentality and all that.