Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Roman military helmets
My first post here. Hello! Confusedmile:

I have been studying Ancient Rome as an amateur for about 13 years now. Read all the classics; Caesar, Polybius, Tacitus, Plutarch, Livy. I also have read considerable modern material regarding Rome and in particular, the Army.

From what I have read, the Legions used the 'Montefortino' until the late republic period, to be replaced by the 'Gallic' types in the 1st century AD.

Was the 'Coolus' helmet used by the legions or the Auxilla?

Is there any recent source material, or books, magazines that differs from the conventional views?

thanks
I don't think we can truly say we really know - I believe the Coolus represents a transition from the Montefortino to the Gallic helmets, and it is dated (I think) from Early 1st Century BC to Late 1st Century AD.
Salve!

We know for certain that Coolus/Hagenau helmets were worn by legionaries because several have been found with inscriptions referring to legions (and many more with the name and century of the owner inscribed which would also imply use by Roman citizens). We have no direct evidence for use of Coolus/Hagenau helmets by auxiliaries unless one counts a column base from Mainz with a relief of a soldier with oval shield and two spears (which would imply an auxiliary) and a helmet with a straight lower rim which may or may not be a Coolus.

We also know that the earlier Coolus helmets which were traditionally believed to be a Celtic development were (also) used (and developed?) by Romans (e.g. from a Roman shipwreck). However, such helmets are also found in native contexts (e.g. Trier-Olewig). Whether such helmets were local copies or of Roman production is impossible to say.