Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Theoretical Roman room furnishings?
Sorry if this isn't the right section. I'm a noob here, but I did read all the rules and I'm trying to get to know this forum as best I can.

So,I had this conversation with my boss:

Me: "You're saying we need info quickly on some cultural and art/artifact things for a specific period in history, and a specific place? We need to ask the people most passionate about that kind of thing."

Him: "Professors?"

Me: "Reenactors. Some of whom are professors anyway."

I work for a small film studio and I am here to get tips and read up on things Roman, as we'll be spending the next two years working on material set in and around Roman Palestine, first century AD. We're recreating some scenes from Biblical New Testament era, specifically some stuff involving Herod "the Great", the Provincial governor of Judea at the time. We need to know a few things about some possible set pieces.

We were wondering if it'd be feasible to have standing torchier/brazier things about eight feet tall or so, probably in an indoor hall/ sitting room setting belonging to Herod himself. If having those would not be totally out of the question, what might they look like?

We're also wanting to put banners in that room, but probably not official government SPQR marching banners, possibly something with Herod's own personal insignia if he had any. This room is not his grand official hall, it's more of a side parlor type space where he'd bring guests to talk face to face. My boss was thinking perhaps a stylized portrait of the man himself in profile such as was put on coins. I wasn't sure if that would make sense to do.

Any info you can give or directions, such as bibliographies or books, you could point me in would be excellent. Thank you so much for your time.