Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Thesis research ....using GIS for archeology..
All

I am a GIS professional and I am looking to use GIS to find certain roman battle sites that are still unknown.Ref. historical sources describing geographic locations. Some sample questions that I dont know which are important to the investigation include the length and width of a legion(5000 men?) in battle formation? How many men deep? rows and ranks. I have idea focus areas in Europe which I will discuss with people interested in finding out more. I will also be contacting a geologist to determine how land changes over time. We may end up contributing to locating a new find!
If you interested please contact me via [email protected]
Thanks
r/
Steven
Steve Kaye had a shot at the Boudicca site with GIS;
http://www.bandaarcgeophysics.co.uk/Boud...alysis.pdf

craft:pegg used map photo and literature rather than GIS;
http://www.craftpegg.com/Battle_Church_Stowe_CP.pdf

the second assumed a battle front of 600m metres, 8 men deep
Very interesting endeavor and a mighty difficult one too. Yet, there is no real formula to find exact battle-line lengths, especially regarding the Romans. I normally use as rule of a thumb only of course, 6oo Romans per 100 m or 1,000 of everyone else as far as heavy infantry is concerned. The details necessary to be more precise are almost never given in the sources (depth, manpower in the front, possible gaps between the wings or between infantry and cavalry etc). Things are even more complex if you advocate the theory that has the Romans fight with sizable intervals between units. For cavalry I usually assume 250-500 men per 100 m.I repeat that this is my personal rule of a thumb and nothing more. It would also be helpful to state exactly what era you are interested in as these things may change, or some battles we have more info of than others.
Macedon
Forum rules
George C. K.
῾Ηρακλῆος γὰρ ἀνικήτου γένος ἐστέ
John