Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hoplite Dagger?
Hello all,

I'm fairly new to hoplite studies, so forgive me if this is a stupid question. In several sources I had heard or seen reference to "hoplite sword and dagger." Of course there are thousands of depictions of hoplites wearing swords, but I cannot bring to mind one in which the hoplite is wearing both a xiphos or kopis and a dagger.

Can someone shed some light on this? If there are depictions, can someone show me one? Or if it existed, at least tell me where and how the dagger would have been worn? I can only imagine behind the right hip, but I also haven't seen any hoplite belts from which to suspend it.

Thanks.
Darren
Hello Darren
What they must mean is that the hoplite used eithe a sword or a dagger. It's almost certain that when they say dagger they mean the supposed laconian short sword that became more and more popular during the 5th and 4th century.
However, the existance of such a sword is dubious. We see very short swords in many parts of greece since 9th century bc and in the typical hoplite style already since the 6th century bc. That said, the laconians may have preffered this shorter style of the xiphos, but calling it a "laconian shord" as we do nowadays goes a bit too far. And yet, there are a couple of depictions in Attic gave stelae of the early 4th century or the late 5th that show what presumambly is a laconian being killed by an Athenian cavalryman, and the slain infantriman in a pilos hat holds a tiny sword/dagger.

Recently i learned that in a 6th-5th century cemetery in Macedonian they have found many swords that had a knife on the scabbard (same practise as in some iberian falkatas). This however is a utility knife most probably, and i don't know if it would have a double edge or it would be curved like most knives of the time.

Khaire
Giannis
Giannis K. Hoplite
a.k.a.:Giannis Kadoglou
a.k.a.:Thorax
[Image: -side-1.gif]
Hello Darren.