Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Finding evidence for the Vigiles?
Greetings,

I am new to this particular board so I pray I placed this query in the correct. My interests in the Roman military has been solid since childhood. In the modern world I am a traditional blacksmith a soldier and a firefighter, all trades with strong ties to our Roman heritage. I thank you for your time and aid on this subject.

My query is thus, does anyone know of any good documentation for the equipment of the Vigiles? So far I only know of two solid sources. It seems the more I look the less I find.

-First is the remains of a bronze pump cart and it's mounted nozzle similar to a modern siamesed monitor (ie a fire engine deck gun). http://www.ostia-antica.org/dict/topics ... aserma.htm
-Second is the find of the Excubitorium in Rome, Identified as a watch house of the seventh cohort by graffiti that has since faded away due to poorly maintaining the site. On the site above there is also a floor plan of a large scale barracks that may have evidence of cart storage.

After that it gets fogy. Much of the equipment discussed is practical and used by the modern fire service of this last century. Any solid data, or original references would be of great interest.

-Buckets. I have found a description of small rope buckets sealed with pitch by Vigiles and a reference to these troopers as being nicknamed "Spartoli".