Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Roman Scorpion / Catapult scale reconstruction
Salve all,

Wanted to share my 'mini' catapult / scorpion reconstructions I've been fabricating (quietly) for a few years now - especially considering my perusing this forum over same period is responsible for a good deal of my motivation to see things through.

Or, to put it another way, I hold you guys responsible....

I've decided to place one on EBAY, below is link to auction:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 287wt_1137

I am also attaching a handful of pics, assuming I am able to follow all rules.

Basic dimension data:

2 sizes - 1/2 scale or Catapult Minimus as I've dubbed it. This has a 38mm modiolus diameter
3/4 scale or Catapult Minor. Modiolus diameter 57mm

Catapult Minimus (little guy):

28" high
24" wide (arm tip to arm tip)
34" long

Weight is 38 lbs.

Dimensioning and engineering data 'developed' using a blend of: Vitruvius / Heron / Philon - with the guidance of Mr. Marsden of course. Alan Wilkins, in my opinion, is as fine as anyone out there in interpretative
skills and applying reason to the issues at hand. And I would be remiss not to mention the outstanding work(s) of your very own Mr. Campbell - his book shines in it's concise, 'linear' breakdown of the entire category of artillery. And I proudly acknowledge incorporating some of Aitor's.... hmmmmm...'wonderfully creative' perspective on things.

Anyway, I've rambled enough, hope you enjoy pics.

Greg
That's some high quality workmanship, sir!
Good job!
M. Demetrius Abicio
(David Wills)

Saepe veritas est dura.
I want one on my sailboat (when I get it)!!! Very Nice! Big Grin
I wonder if local authorities will let me fish with it? Big Grin
Craig Bellofatto

Going to college for Massage Therapy. So reading alot of Latin TerminologyWink

It is like a finger pointing to the moon. DON\'T concentrate on the finger or you miss all the heavenly glory before you!-Bruce Lee