Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
de Bello Gallico 5.50-51
Hi,
I am new to the world of Roman military webpages. I suspect there are formidable resources here. I have been reading Caesar's de Bello Gallico. 5.50-51 is very interesting to me. I suspect this is a locus classicus among Roman military historians for the interesting and colorful description Caesar gives of the layout and construction of the camp. I find it a little confusing, probably largely because I am not as familiar with Roman military matters as I might be. I would really appreciate the help of some of you. My general sense of the passage is that Caesar is trying to create the impression among the Gauls that he is in disarray and that there is an easy conquest waiting for them in the camp. A key concept that recurs is blocking the gate: "Simul ex omnibus partibus castra altiore vallo muniri portasque obstrui atque in his administrandis rebus quam maxime concursari et cum simulatione agi timoris iubet" (5.50.5). Also: "Ac sic nostros contempserunt ut obstructis in speciem portis singulis ordinibus caespitum, quod ea non posse introrumpere videbantur, alii vallum manu scindere, alii fossas complere inciperent." (5.51.3) The turf in the gates confuses me. Caesar is on the one hand luring the enemy in for his trap by pretending to be very vulnerable but the turf in the gates (and what exactly does "ordinibus caespitum" mean? Layers of cut turf piled high?) would seem to me to indicate to the enemy that the camp was well fortified. Or were such piles of cut turf used as sort of fortification of last resort and if so would the use of them indicate to the enemy that the garrison was in a desperate panicky state? What about that "in speciem" phrase? Why would some cut turf in the gate have made such an impression on the Gauls? Would it have been that difficult to get through? Could it be that Caesar wants to give the Gauls the impression of easy pickings in the camp but that the cut turf technique i