Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
\'Roman\' names at Vindolanda
This is a question in relation to A.R. Birley's paper 'The Names of the Batavians and Tungrians' (in T. Grünewald (ed) 2001, Germania Inferior: Besiedlung, Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft an der Grenze der römisch-germanischen Welt. Berlin, New York: Walter de Gruyter, 241-260). From p.253 onwards he lists the names of the Batavian and Tungrian soldiers and notes that 58-64% of the Batavians and around 70% of the Tungrians had 'Romanised' rather than Germanic names. Many of these may presumably have been given their names upon recruitment (much like how Apion became Antonius Maximus; BGU 432, 632).

However, this was before volumes III and IV of the writing tablets had been published, which obviously gave us more data. Does anyone know if the totals of 'Roman' vs. 'German' names have been recalculated anywhere? I'd try this myself but I'm not very good with names. :oops:

(I hope it's not in volume III, I don't have that to hand right now...)
Just about to post a similar question myself. Didn't know about that paper, I will try to locate a copy ...

Could not Roman names be awarded at the end of service, with citizenship, and the son then use that name, continuing the tradition of soldiering in his father's cohort?

Related: Where Batavian and Tungrian names occur at all, surely they represent the first wave of recruits, whose fathers have not gained their citizenship and not adopted a Roman name. And if local recruitment begins quite quickly, within 20-30 years, surely Tungrian and Batavian names should be vanishing pretty quickly to be replaced with Celtic names (as we see in the Vindolanda tablets). On this last point, should recruits continue to come from Batavia/Tungria then I can see how these names would continue within the unit.
Paul Elliott

Legions in Crisis
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/17815...d_i=468294